Back to BLQ

6 01 2009

As I am writing this, I am sitting at Vienna Airport waiting for my flight to Bologna Airport (code: BLQ). My routing has been changed from a Frankfurt connection to a direct flight – a delay on the VIE-FRA service could have stopped me at Frankfurt Airport and Lufthansa/Austrian obviously wanted to make sure they get rid of me tonight… 😉

So now I have two more hours to boarding – the first one I have spent watching the Austrian triumph in ski jumping and sampling the business lounge food. Time enough for a little report on christmas holiday events.

The first days I spent in Vienna meeting friends, catching up with the latest events at my firm and of course christmas shopping. On I went to Linz to spend the Christmas days with my parents and family. Despite all wonderful food and cookies it seems I did not put on any weight.  Speaking about Linz – my hometown is European Cultural Capital in 2009 together with Vilnius in Lithuania. (Click for Link)

Linz 09 - European Cultural Capital

Linz 09 - European Cultural Capital

After that followed three great days of skiing in the Schladming region. Weather was marvellous!

Planai panorama

Planai panorama

New year’s eve I celebrated with friends and friends of friends 😉 in a beautiful country house in the alpine lake region of Upper Austria. We had two funny, snowy and cloudy days (both in the nature and in our heads…) –  thank you again Ina and Martin!

Then back to Linz to meet more friends and to go for another day of skiing to Hinterstoder. Again clear but icy weather which decorated trees with a pretty ice cover.

Hinterstoder winter landscape

Hinterstoder winter landscape

And the tour ended with one and a half day in Vienna that I spent mainly indoors in cafés and bars to avoid the frosty winter city…

So here I am, another hour and half to go until boarding, but I’ll think of something to do! Maybe work on my online skiing skills at the ski challenge

Ski Challenge!

Ski Challenge!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

